Pilot Light

Inferno is a PR consultancy. This is not. This is Inferno’s blog.

To sleep, perchance to dream – ay, there’s the rub

with 2 comments

Dreamgirl?

Dreamgirl?

I have been an insomniac since the age of 15 but I have always managed to steal a couple hours sleep here and there. However, over the last couple of days, I’ve found it virtually impossible to stay asleep for more than 45 minutes. Now this normally wouldn’t be such a problem since I have a near endless supply of apple juice and red bull to keep me awake but lately, I have started having vague day dreams (mostly on the packed District line, where to be fair, there is a significantly reduced amount of oxygen going to my brain) and this worries me.

Freud hypothesized that things like this were usually a projection of unconscious wishes, thoughts and wants, but I am pretty sure that if that were the case, I’d be day dreaming of Angelina Jolie, Kate Beckinsale and Halle Berry, offering me their love and riches in some sort of Apple of Discord like scenario. Unfortunately, I seem to be day dreaming of Mrs. Havisham from Great Expectations, a book I haven’t read since 1999. Now, what that says about my unconscious wishes, thoughts and wants is subject to interpretation but I am willing to go with the explanation that is going to subject me to the least amount of ridicule. I’m thinking something along the lines of: I’m attracted to rich women and not I’m attracted to really old women. Any thoughts?

In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t come into work drowsy, with dilated, red eyes talking about daydreaming of Miss Havisham. That is just a random drugs test waiting to happen.

-Elijah

Written by pilotlight

21/08/2008 at 5:11 pm

Posted in Human Resources

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Elijah,
    I have just read your post re dreaming of Miss Havisham (I’ll not bore you with the details of how I stumbled upon this) but I have plenty to say about why I think you have dreamt this…
    Miss Havisham symbolises the failure of expectations, the extreme example of someone who allowed their soul to be destroyed by disappointment, thus your subconscious may be warning you not to allow your disappointments in life to crush your spirit.
    There also may be something about mothers in there too? The idea of the mother who brought their child up to wreak revenge on the whole male species – what have your ex girlfirends been like and what is your relationship with your own mother like?
    Unfortunately I am not a psychiatrist but I am an English Teacher so simply adore this sort of conundrum. I am aware that you posted this about six months ago but I am thoroughly intrigued, so if you want to illuminate further then I’d love that (and I’m sorry to say that I’m neither rich nor old).

    annikki

    23/01/2009 at 4:21 pm

    • Hi Annikki,

      Thanks for commenting on my blog post and apologies for my tardiness, I have been catching up on my sleep :-).

      Although it would probably make a more interesting post, I actually have a good relationship with my mother and my ex-girlfriends (although they might say otherwise). You might have touched on something with regards to the disappointment thing as I get very down whenever I am disappointed and it tends to occupy my thoughts a lot.

      pilotlight

      20/03/2009 at 11:28 am


Leave a Reply

