Pilot Light

Inferno is a PR consultancy. This is not. This is Inferno’s blog.

Welcome to Bloggage?

with one comment

So we’ve started a blog then. I can just hear TWL now: “oh Inferno has at last managed to recognise the existence of digital media developments and got round to starting a blog… not bad for a tech agency… etc etc blah bloody sarcasm blah”. Well, I have two things to say to them – 1. shut up or I will ‘out’ you because I have spent my entire ‘digital media experience’ to date hunting you down and now have a suitable bank of hard evidence (and some that I have made up), and 2. we, perhaps, didn’t feel the need to contribute yet another PR agency blog in a set time period into the blogosphere. Hey, perhaps we didn’t feel the pressure to conform and spent our energies on helping and supporting our clients in their initial forays into the blogosphere, rather than spending our idle hours blogging about… well about whatever!   This does raise an interesting point though – can you provide consultancy to your clients around blogging and other forms of digital media if you don’t actively participate yourself? My own view (perhaps unsurprisingly given the above!) is that yes you can. I mean, I’ve been giving media relations consultancy for over a decade and I don’t think I’m too bad at it – but I’ve never worked at a newspaper or edited a magazine. Would I have been a better media relations consultant if I had? Or would I, like quite a few journalists who have ‘crossed to the dark side’, hated every minute of it and left PR quite quickly?? Also, how many agencies have SecondLife versions? Do you HAVE to have a SecondLife virtual version of your agency to be able to advise on what a clients engagement or approach to this medium is? Do you have to have sent your agency’s office outing or party to YouTube for your clients to respect your consultancy on video viral PR?  Hey perhaps you do… unless you’re our clients who seem to have done quite well out of our digital media consultancy without Inferno having a blog of its own… go figure.

Grant

Written by pilotlight

05/06/2007 at 10:03 am

Posted in PR

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just be honest Grant; you were too bloody lazy to set one up…. A far more believeable reason for your late entry to blogging!

    Anyway, welcome to the blogosphere – I look forward to regular musings from the Infernals but please, nothing about how marvellous Peterborough is.

    Clive Armitage

    05/06/2007 at 9:45 pm


Leave a Reply

